April 2, 2010

Review of: Marked (House of Night, Book 1)

The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird's world, vampyres have always existed. In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire--that is, if she makes it through the Change. Not all of those who are chosen do. It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

In this alternate reality series by a mother-daughter ream, 'vampyres' are known to exist. There is even a special high school for kids that have been Marked. Zoey Redbird is one of these kids. But Zoey isn't an ordinary vampyre fledgling. Zoey is also part Cherokee. There seems to be something extra special about the mix of her Cherokee heritage and the gifts given to her by the Goddess Nyx.

Zoey makes some new friends at the House of Night school (and an enemy or two). Her roommate is a really great girl named Stevie Rae. Stevie Rae's three close friends, Erin, Shaunee and Damien instantly embrace Zoey into their close-knit circle. And what YA series would be complete without a love interest? His name is Eric.

Title: Marked
Authors: PC and Kristin Cast
ISBN: 9780312360269
Pages: 306
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin (May 2007)
Catagories: Fiction, Young Adult, Paranormal
Source: I stole this from my 16yo daughter's bookcase.
Grade: B+ What does this grade mean?

Challenges: tiny - 100+tiny - YAtiny - SYLLtiny - Books to Read Before I Die

Books in this series:
Marked (Book 1)**
Betrayed (Book 2)
Chosen (Book 3)
Untamed (Book 4)
Hunted (Book 5)
Tempted (Book 6)
Burned (Book 7)
**This review.

0 thoughts:

Post a Comment

Thank you for letting me know your thoughts and that you were here. I read all of your comments. If you are commenting on a post that is from 14 or more days ago, your comment will have to be approved before it appears.

I try to respond to all comments. I will respond either right here in the comment section of this post, on your own blog or through email. =)


IMPORTANT: Kylee's Journal Disclosure

In accordance with the FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, Kylee's Journal would like everyone to know that the books reviewed on my blog were either provided to me by the publisher/the author for free OR were purchased by me OR were borrowed from the library. Books recieved for free do not get special treatment, if I don't like something, I either will not finish it (DNF) or I will struggle through to the end; both get reviews posted here.